The inevitable family questions

April 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

I guess I should have seen it coming. With the mass gathering of extended family at Easter, and the nearing prospect of the end of my degree, questions about what I was going to do with my life should have seemed inevitable. For the most part, people didn’t ask me too many (although this too hints at my mum pre-warning them not to, which isn’t good either).

I’m getting really frustrated with all this pressure as my degree comes to a close, although I know that most of it is self-inflicted. Right now, I need to be focusing on finishing my essay and revising for the up-coming exams and yet whenever I think about the end of my degree, I feel the need to research employers, look for jobs and internships to ensure that something will be sorted for when I graduate. I can’t bear the idea of sitting around doing nothing. And knowing that my family will silently (for the most part) be disappointed.

I have done some damage control though. Booking a visit to my friend Laura, who’s on her year abroad in Spain, will not only give me a well-earned holiday but some serious down-time. In fact, I’m ridiculously exicted about it. It will be lovely to see her and give me some time, free from career concerns, to relax in the Spanish sunshine. Having booked this trip for the end of June, I feel that gives me a little more time to keep pursuing more career options, looking for placements and jobs that start in July rather than the second I graduate.

I’m just so looking forward to the time when a extended, hardly-ever seen second-cousin asks me “So what are you doing after University then?”, I can quickly reply, “Oh, I’ve got a ………………. at this amazing company called ………………… doing ………………………………………………………………………………………..”

I guess for now, all I need to focus on is my degree and filling in those dreaded blanks.

In the words of my mum, “Everything’ll be fine in the end”.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The inevitable family questions at Decent Online Presence.

meta

