Could I change my mind any more?

April 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

Well, I’ve done it again. In classic Jenna style, I have yet again changed my mind on how to proceed in the coming months, and what career I really want to focus on pursuing. After the last few days of focus on creative Advertising and becoming a copywriter, I have been thinking more and more that I would really miss the client interaction and general project management that you get from being an Account Executive in either Advertising or PR.

I think what this highlights more than anything though is that I’m really not sure where I want to be. Really, at this point, I should be looking to gain experience, not just to make myself more employable and build up my skill sets but to figure out where I actually want to be. For the past few months, in every application I’ve done I have been focusing too much on what employers want from me, rather than considering what I want from my employer.

The truth is I don’t know where I want to work yet and am open to new opportunities to figure this out. If I can experience all my options, then I’ll be able to make an informed decision about my career path and really focus on achieving those goals, rather than magically ending up on a career that I chose on a whim.

So from now on the focus needs to be on gaining experience in all aspects of Advertising and PR, to figure out exactly where in the Marketing industry I fit (at least I’ve narrowed it down to 1 sector!). I’m looking for an internship or job which allows me to gain experience across all features of the business, in project management, client services and the creative. Wherever I go, I need to be working somewhere in which every day feels different, is constantly challenging and in which I can see real tangible results for all my hard work and commitment, and which still allows me the space for creativity (whether that be writing, or just involvement in creative meetings).

If this sounds like something you or anyone you know could offer me then please do get in touch @jenloubee on Twitter or check out my CV for more details of previous experience.

Hopefully I’ve made this latest decision vague and generic enough to stick to for the time being!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Could I change my mind any more? at Decent Online Presence.

meta

