Inspiring Intern

April 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

After sending my CV to inspiringinterns.com several weeks ago, and receiving a very quick response from their team, I have been deliberating for a long time on whether to progress my application further. It’s not for a lack of opportunties; in fact, each time I speculatively go and look at their site they have internship vacancies that look like they’d suit me perfectly. No, the problem is they want a video CV to act as their client’s first point of contact with you, and that scares me massively.

I’m not sure why I find the task of recording myself so daunting. Perhaps it comes after my abismal experience with film making for Task 3 of the Saatchi & Saatchi grad scheme. I just really can’t stand watching myself, or hearing myself on film, let alone think it good enough to send to prospective employers.

So I’ve been putting it off… and off… and off…

But today a new vacancy appeared for a 3-month internship working with an International Branding agency, gaining experience in all aspects of the business from organisational to creative and it sounds PERFECT for me. So it looks like I’m going to have to suck it up and make the video.

My first attempt (just over a week ago) was appalling. For some reason when I know I’m on film, I talk like a posh idiot and start blinking manically. But I figure if I do it enough, eventually I will end up with a final product that I’m happy with. So I’ve prepared a little speech, and I think I’m ready. Now just to dress up in my “office” clothes, stand by my bedroom wall and figure out the self-timer…

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiring Intern at Decent Online Presence.

meta

