Things to Read

April 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve just got home from a lovely weekend in London for the boyfriend’s 23rd birthday. Spent yesterday afternoon (slightly hungover) in Foyles, eating cake in the cafe and browsing through all the books. I wanted to buy some so much but just couldn’t justify it until my loan comes through again in May. I always do this though and then forget which ones I desperately wanted to get by the time I actually get round to and can afford to buy them so figured I’d write them down here.

The Woman In White by Wilkie Collins – this supposedly has one of the best plots in the history of English Literature, and I loved The Moonstone which I read for my course last term.

The next 3 Dragon Prince books by Melanie Rawn – I would buy these right this second after reading the first 3 over the past few weeks and loving them but I know if I do, I won’t do any revision all Easter break because I won’t be able to put them down.

Ralph’s Party by Lisa Jewell – saw an advert for its sequel on the Underground and it lured me in (everyone needs to read a slightly trashy love story every now and again)

Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood – love her style of writing and recommended by one of Dan’s friends

We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver – enjoyed this when I first started reading it after borrowing it from the library but never got to finish it. I still don’t know all the plot twists and need to read it before the film comes out.

I also really want to read some of the Advertising classics after discovering shelves and shelves of them. Both of Ogilvy’s books Ogilvy on Advertising and the original Confessions of an Advertising Man come highly recommended by the advertising world and from what I sneaked a peek of in Foyles look amazing! There were also loads more on how to create a good portfolio with advice from directors and existing advertising creatives. I figure I should ask for these as presents for my graduation.

It’s made me really excited about the next few years rather than the previous blind panic and fear…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things to Read at Decent Online Presence.

meta

